As of December 4, 2017, the U.S. Supreme Court has granted the Trump administration's request to temporarily allow Muslim Ban 3.0 to take effect while the case is being litigated. This means there is nothing preventing the immediate implementation of the Muslim Ban. 

However, we are committed to fighting -- in the courts, in Congress, and in the streets -- for freedom, equality, and for those who are unfairly being separated from their loved ones. The ACLU will be arguing on Friday December 8 in the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals that the entire ban should be struck down. To Muslims in the United States, to those who are being kept apart by the ban, and to everyone who cherishes religious equality, we stand with you. 

Who Will Be Impacted?

Muslim Ban 3.0 only applies to individuals from one of eight countries (Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen) who meet all of the following:

  • Outside of the U.S. on the effective date (either 9/24/17 or 10/18/17);
  • Do not have a valid visa on the effective date; and
  • Have not obtained a waiver under Section 3(c).

It does NOT apply to any of the following individuals:

  • Lawful permanent residents (green card holders);
  • Individuals admitted or paroled into the U.S. on or after the effective date of the new Muslim Ban;
  • Those with a document other than a visa that allows them to travel to the U.S., if the document is dated on or after the effective date of the new Muslim Ban;
  • Dual-nationals traveling on a passport from a non-designated country;
  • Individuals granted asylum;
  • Refugees already admitted to the U.S.; or
  • Individuals granted withholding of removal, advance parole, or protection under the Convention against Torture. 

Impacted Countries


  • All immigrant visas and nonimmigrant business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas are suspended.


  • All immigrant and nonimmigrant entry is suspended for Iranian nationals except for those with F, J, or M visas.
  • Those with F, J, or M visas will most likely be subject to “enhanced screening and vetting requirements.”


  • All immigrants and nonimmigrants on business (B-1), tourist (B-2), business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas are suspended.

North Korea

  • All immigrant and nonimmigrant visa holders are suspended from entering the U.S.


  • All immigrant visas are suspended for Somali nationals.
  • Non-immigrant visas are permitted, subjected to heightened screening.


  • All immigrant and nonimmigrant entry is suspended for Syrian nationals.


  • The entry of officials of government agencies of Venezuela involved in screening and vetting procedures and their immediate family members, as nonimmigrants on business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas, is suspended. 
  • Additionally, nationals of Venezuela who are visa holders are subject to additional measures. 
  • Per Section 3(b)(v) of the new Muslim Ban, certain Venezuelans traveling on diplomatic visas are not affected by this order. 


  • All immigrant visas and nonimmigrant business (B-1), tourist (B-2), and business/tourist (B-1/B-2) visas are suspended. 


  • Sudan was removed from the list of restricted countries in the new Muslim Ban.
  • Sudanese visa holders who were impacted by earlier Muslim Bans should now be able to reapply for visa. 

How to Get Legal Help

If you or someone you know is impacted by this Muslim Ban, or would like to request a "Know Your Rights" presentation, please contact one of these organizations. 

Information compiled by Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR) in AlabamaCAIR California-San Francisco, and the Asian Americans Advancing Justice-Asian Law Caucus (AAAJ-ALC)

know your rights muslim ban infographic
know your rights muslim ban infographic

Stay informed

ACLU of Alabama is part of a network of affiliates

Learn more about ACLU National